Reaction Piece on the Bill Cosby Mistrial

For me, the recent outcome of the Bill Cosby trial and trials similar to that one are an absolute disgrace and slap to the face.  This trial, essentially, discredits the severity of sexual assault and the voice of victims.  Though we have made progress throughout the years, we still have so very far to go.  Trials like Cosby’s and men like Donald Trump, destroys not only the credibility of sexual assault victims, but the spirit of the victims as well.  People often wonder why sexual assault victims don’t speak up or wait so long to speak up, and it is because of men like this who so easily walk free.  Each victim’s reason for not immediately sharing his or her story will be different. 

As a former sexual assault victim, I waited 12 years before I shared my story.  Why did I wait so long to share my truth?  I was terrified that others wouldn’t believe me.  I was nervous that others would treat me differently.  And I was ashamed of not only those who hurt me, but of myself as well.  After burying the assaults for so long, I began to discredit the events, myself.   Sexual assault and violence are still very difficult topics for people to discuss, but it becomes even more difficult to discuss when people like Donald Trump, Bill Cosby, Mike Tyson, etc. get away with their crimes so effortlessly.

Now, more than ever, we need to start being more honest and educating young and old people alike.  We no longer live in the 1950’s.  We live in a country that guarantees everyone equal rights.  We are a thriving 1st world country.  It’s time we started acting like it.

Leave a Reply

