The Trump Phenomenon

Why do people like Donald Trump?  The question consistently haunted me over the weekend.  Despite, finding answers, I still don’t have a concrete solution.

Trump’s points are known to be outlandish and crude.  He has been compared to such notorious fictional and non-fictional characters like Hitler and even Lord Voldemort.  Trump has offended and others with his racist, sexist, and religious intolerant remarks.  So why do people still support him?

Trump has a pretty specific following, most of which are white conservative men, ages 45 to 64.  According to Arbiter News, 42% of Trump supporters are women, 58% are men, 91% are white, and 43% have a high school degree or less, and 65% identify themselves as conservative.  For a full list of details and demographics visit: Arbiter News.  His supporters continue to follow him despite his highly offensive nature.

People enjoy Donald Trump for his brutally honest viewpoints and his tendency to stray away from the stereotypical political roles.  His viewpoints have even influenced celebrities like Kid Rock, Mike Ditka, and Wayne Newton.  One fellow supporter, Susan Demelus, says she thoroughly agrees with and respects fellow businessman Donald Trump.  Demelus says, “I don’t believe any one of (the politicians). Not one. I believe Donald.”

Trump has been vocal on several topics, most of which include immigration, his fellow competitors, Muslims, and women.  He has stated that he believes building a wall will prevent illegal immigration and future crime.  Trump states:

“I will build a great wall – and nobody builds walls better than me, believe me – and I’ll build them very inexpensively. I will build a great, great wall on our southern border, and I will make Mexico pay for that wall. Mark my words.”

Trump has referred to certain female celebrities as ugly and dogs.  At the same time, Trump refers to his wife-Melania Trump- as a ‘hot piece of ass.’  During an interview, Trump states:

“I think the only difference between me and the other candidates is that I’m more honest and my women are more beautiful.”

This is not to say that his competitors are perfect politicians (if there is such a thing), but Trump certainly does make them look docile.

Currently, Ted Cruz beat Donald Trump during the Texas republican primary; however, Trump has seen success in the southern states.  He may not consistently be number one; however, he certainly seems to be number one in the media.  Hate him or love him; Trump is clearly hear to stay.

Leave a Reply

