Racism Still Exists

It almost makes me laugh when people say racism no longer exists.  As long as there are people on the planet- racism, sexism, etc. will exist.  The fact of the matter is, we are judgmental and prejudice people.  No, not all of us are complete and radical racists.  But we all make our own judgments about others based on appearance and behavior.  I’ll be the first to admit it; I have continuously judged others throughout my years.  Yes I know better and yes I’m aware of the phrase, “never judge a book by its cover,” yet I still subconsciously critique others.

In America race seems to be on everyone’s mind.  We’ve come a long way since slavery and segregation, but we are still slaves to color classification.   People have this intense desire and need to know what race you are.  ‘Where do you come from?’  ‘What do you identify as?’  It’s perfectly natural to be proud of where your ethnicity and familial background; it’s not, however, natural for an individual to feel pressured to identify themselves based on the standards of others.

We don’t all start off judging others; I believe it’s a learned trait.  We learn how to judge and see others differently from our parents/guardians and society.  When I was a young girl, I didn’t realize “color” or nationality existed amongst humans.  I would have never have thought to categorize my friends based on the standard Asian, African American, and Hispanic ethnicities.  I mean, I wasn’t filling out a form and checking boxes when I found my friends.  I simply categorized my peers as either adults or children.  Somewhere along the way we realize that we’re different and that’s where the trouble begins.

But the fact of the matter is we’re not different.  No one is more special than the other.  God created us all equally.  No special sauce was sprinkled on any one person during our formation.  Yes, some of us have different personality traits and intellect levels, but we are all equal.  When we think we are greater than others- whether that is based on income level, IQ, or skin color- that’s where the problem begins.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. jonolan says:

    Some of what you wrote is solid advice. However, some of it so far wrong when combined with the rest that it deforms what rational person would hope to be your message.

    The case in point is, “But we all make our own judgments about others based on appearance and behavior.”

    The first is a quite valid reason to make an initial judgement and the latter is the only one by which, in my opinion, to make a lasting one.

    We are NOT all the same. While dissimilitude doesn’t or shouldn’t imply inequality, it can and often does mean that people or groups can’t interact safely because their differences are antithetical to each other.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. UndeClaired says:

      Thank you for your input! I’m just getting to some of my comments. Better late than never, though. I appreciate your feedback and after reviewing my article I see your point. The article was scattered and lacking in certain areas. One day I hope to revise and recreate a more organized and insightful version of this article. However, I still maintain the belief that we are all the equal. We are all humans that eat, breathe, and sleep everyday. Unfortunately, what sets us apart and in some cases holds us back is the media’s portrayal of ethnicity, religion, gender types, etc.

      Like

Leave a Reply

